

420 Watson Powell Jr. Parkway, Suite 200 Des Moines, Iowa 50309 Phone: 515.334.0075 www.dmampo.org

April 29, 2014

Mr. Paul Moritz Public Works Director City of Ankeny 220 West First Street Ankeny, IA 50023

Dear Mr. Moritz:

SUBJECT: MPO FEDERAL FISCAL YEAR 2018 SURFACE TRANSPORTATION PROGRAM FUNDING AWARDS

This correspondence is to inform the City of Ankeny that the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) approved the Northeast 36th Street reconstruction – US 69 east to Northeast Delaware Avenue application for Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2018 Surface Transportation Program (STP) funds on April 17, 2014. The approved Federal funding is \$750,000. The MPO included this updated surface transportation improvements funding amount in the *Federal Fiscal Years 2015-2018 Transportation Improvement Program*.

Please note the MPO requires all recipients to provide the MPO with a semi-annual report on the status and progress of the improvement, as outlined in the MPO's *Guidelines for Surface Transportation Program and Transportation Alternatives Program Funding*. Also, please be aware that you must notify the MPO if the information submitted in the application changes, such as the project scope, design, or cost, before you receive authorization from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA).

In order to receive your STP funds, the city will need to work with the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT). To initiate that process, STP project sponsors should contact:

Mr. Gregg Durbin Local Systems Engineer, District 1 Office Iowa Department of Transportation 1020 South 4th Street Ames, IA 50010 (515) 239-1421 Moritz/Young Letter STP Funding Award April 29, 2014 Page 2

The city does not yet have a funding commitment nor is it authorized to expend funds until the Iowa DOT receives FHWA approval. Expenditures incurred prior to FHWA approval are ineligible for reimbursement. If you have questions, comments, or concerns, please contact the MPO at (515) 334-0075, or by email at <a href="mailto:zyoung@dmampo.org">zyoung@dmampo.org</a>.

Respectfully,

Zach Young

Senior Transportation Planner

cc: Gregg Durbin, Iowa Department of Transportation

Shawn Majors, Iowa Department of Transportation

Mike Clayton, Iowa Department of Transportation

Gary Lorenz, City of Ankeny

David Jones, City of Ankeny

Wade Steenhoek, City of Ankeny

John Peterson, City of Ankeny

Eric Jensen, City of Ankeny

Paul Moritz, City of Ankeny

Tom Hockensmith, MPO Chair

Todd Ashby, MPO Executive Director